Oklahoma City Thunder star Russell Westbrook won the 2016-2017 NBA MVP award Monday night. The trophy caps off an historic season for Westbrook.

He topped three MVP candidates — Houston Rockets’ James Harden, San Antonio Spurs’ Kawhi Leonard and Cleveland Cavaliers’ LeBron James. Westbrook received 61 out of 101 first-place votes. Harden had 22, Leonard had nine and James only received one.

Westbrook became the second player in NBA history to finish the season averaging a triple-double and broke Oscar Robertson‘s record for most triple-doubles in a season. He finished averaging 31.6 points, 10.4 assists and 10.7 rebounds.


Posted by Ryan Gaydos

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of the LA Sports Pulse. When I'm not doing that or asleep, I am running FoxNews.com's homepage. Follow me on Twitter @RyanGaydos.

Join the Discussion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s