The NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2017 was announced Saturday with a big shock.

LaDainian Tomlinson, Kurt Warner, Terrell Davis, Jerry Jones, Jason Taylor, Morten Andersen and Kenny Easley all received the call to Canton, while Terrell Owens was snubbed for a second straight year.

Tomlinson spent a majority of his career with the San Diego Chargers and spent time with the New York Jets. He rushed for more than 13,000 yards and scored 145 rushing touchdowns. He also led the league in rushing twice. He won the 2006 NFL MVP award.

Warner was signed by the St. Louis Rams from a grocery store. In between his time with the Arena Football League, Warner was bagging groceries. He turned the chance into a Hall of Fame career with a Super Bowl ring in three appearances. He threw for more than 32,000 yards and 208 touchdown passes. His career went from the Rams to the New York Giants to the Arizona Cardinals. He was a two-time NFL MVP award winner — in 1999 and 2001.

Davis played an instrumental role in the Denver Broncos two Super Bowls. He spent his entire career in the Mile High city, racking up 7,607 rushing yards — with 2,000 of them coming in the 1998 season. He only played in seven seasons.

Jones is one of the most prolific businessmen in all of the U.S — not just the NFL. The teams that he built in the 90s won three Super Bowls, but the Dallas Cowboys haven’t really been the same since. Jones has facilitated the NFL’s move back to Los Angeles in the last two years and probably has more pull than any other owner in the league.

Taylor is bit of a surprise in the class. He’s definitely not a first ballot hall of famer by any means, but I guess that’s not up to me. Taylor was a six-time Pro Bowler and three-time All-Pro selection. He finished up with 139.5 sacks in his career that spanned the Miami Dolphins, Washington Redskins and the Jets.

Andersen was arguably the best at his position. The kicker was a seven-time Pro Bowler and three-time All-Pro selection. Over his 25-year career, Andersen made 79.7 percent of his field goal tries. He was also 40-for-84 from attempts 50-yards or longer.

Lastly, Easley was selected from the seniors committee. The safety spent seven seasons with the Seattle Seahawks. He made 32 interceptions over that span and had three touchdowns. He made the Pro Bowl five times and the All-Pro team three times.


Posted by Ryan Gaydos

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of the LA Sports Pulse. When I'm not doing that or asleep, I am running's homepage. Follow me on Twitter @RyanGaydos.

Join the Discussion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s